Skip to content

A Little Engine That Could

June 1, 2012

When I was a kid, one of my favorite books was “The Little Engine That Could”. It was about a train which was old-style (I think it was coal-fired with one of those big exhaust spouts at the front) and being left behind by modern diesel and electric trains. There was a hill that the tracks went over and the Little Engine needed to make it up and over that hill for some reason or other. As he’s chuggin’ up that hill, he keeps himself motivated by repeating to himself “I think I can, I think I can…”. That’s exactly how I feel after Day 19 of Insanity. I think I can!

But let’s be clear, it still ain’t easy. I’m not sure if the Insanity workouts will ever be easy. Maybe if you get into Shaun T level of shape. I mean, that dude’s doing the workouts faster than me (and with better form) and he’s TALKING THE WHOLE TIME! I can hardly catch my breath, much less talk!

My calves are just destroyed now and I am really looking forward to my Sunday day of rest to let them heal up a bit. In fact, I’d say my cardio endurance is now ahead of my muscle endurance. I’ll be going along, doing the exercises and still have plenty of breath left, but my muscles will just quit. They’re just done and I have to take a break to let them recover a bit before starting up again. If you’re doing Insanity, you know what I mean. If you’re *thinking* about doing Insanity, realize that it ain’t no joke. You’re going to have to PUSH yourself, repeatedly. You better have a shining goal in your mind’s eye that will motivate you enough to pop in that DVD every morning or else you might not make it.

Last week I started to change my diet too. I’m actually eating salads now. No joke! 🙂 But I’m struggling a bit to find the right calorie level. Different sites give me different numbers as far as how many calories to eat per day. I tried to restrict myself to 2000 calories per day, but I have to tell you: I was seriously hungry  seemingly ALL the time. I think that’s probably too low. I upped it to 2300, but I’m worried that’s a maintenance level of intake and I really want to lose my version of the spare tire. I have seen some glimmers of progress in that area, as the sides are seemingly reducing in size, but I haven’t seen the dramatic improvement that I really want (granted, it’s only been 2 1/2 weeks). I’m keeping track of all my calories though in a spreadsheet (there’s the software engineer showing!), so I think eventually I’ll find the right level that works for me. It is shocking, once you start tracking your calories however, to see how MANY calories there are in just about everything you put in your mouth. Except for vegetables. They have pretty much zero calories. But who eats those? 😉

From → InShape

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

