Skip to content
Tags

Ok, I can’t hold this in!

August 2, 2016

This isn’t going to be a meditation on some great happening in the world. No, go to CNN for that! What I’ve got for you here is a rant, yes, a rant about how Urban Outfitters displays their vinyl records.

Background is I’m one of the late-arrivers (aka “the most hated!”) to the the “Vinyl Resurgence” and I’ve been looking about getting back into the format. Funds are low at the moment, so I won’t be purchasing a turntable and assorted bric-a-brac until next month. In the meantime, I’ve been devouring articles on vinyl’s return, watching documentaries on the same, and perusing YouTube videos of people showing off their vinyl collections (the amount of voyeurism possible in our modern world is simply AMAZING!).

One of my methods to being AROUND vinyl but not IN vinyl just yet is to go to the (few) stores that are stocking it now, such as that oh-so-wanna-be-hip chain, Urban Outfitters. I did that yesterday when I had a free moment at the mall when my wife was busy with shoe-shopping. To my horror, Urban Outfitters has NO FREAKING CLUE how to display their records. First off, the shelf the records were sitting on was too damn high. Yeah, I’m kind of short at 5’9″, but the shelf ridiculously came up to my lower chest. Then the crates the albums were stored in were WAY too deep. This resulted in all the records falling forward when you perused the front-most ones, resulting in a mad scramble to keep them from falling and possible breaking. They had it right only for the box that was displaying “Staff Suggestions”, which was about half the size of the other boxes, making it easy to flip through because it limited the number of records pressing on the pile as you went through them.

Of course I could quibble about the selection too, with WAY too much Bieber, Adele, and Lana Del Rey. But that’s what the kids want, I guess, so that’s what the kids get. Kind of surprised to not see any Cure or Depeche Mode albums, and the only Nirvana record was “Nevermind”. Whatever. I probably won’t buy a single record at UO unless I’m just trying to kill time while my wife shops (which is WAY too often!). I’m going to check out the only local record shop around called “Silver Platters”. I expect they’ll have a better selection of vinyl, as well as probably some used, cheaper vinyl as well. It does seem a bit silly to be paying $20 to $30 for what is, essentially, an outdated format of music storage, but then you see that huge artwork and you’re reminded how albums SHOULD look and then you just can’t help yourself!

I’ve already decided on the first vinyl record I’m going to purchase once I get my player: Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side of the Moon”. Now I’ve never heard this album, although I’ve heard at least a song or two from it (“Money” is just that and I think “Comfortably Numb” is on this one as well?). I’m buying this album because it’s a classic, widely regarded as one of the top 25 albums of all time. I figure millions of people can’t be wrong, right?! After that, I’ll probably pick up some Black Sabbath, which I’ve never really owned. I probably won’t initially purchase some of my favorite bands work on vinyl (like U2 and Depeche Mode) because I already have them on CD, but I’ll eventually get to them most likely. In the meantime, I’ve joined the “Record of the Month” club, Vinyl Me, Please, so hopefully they can introduce me to some new stuff and expand my musical horizons a bit. I want to be open to new music and experiences. I think you really only get old when you don’t allow yourself to be exposed to the new.

From → Music, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

