Skip to content
Tags

The First Song I Remember Hearing

August 9, 2016

Was Three Dog Night’s “Joy to the World”. It was in the first years of my life, when my family lived in Spring Valley, California, a suburb of San Diego. I was probably two-and-a-half years old when I heard it, and I distinctly remember liking the song because of the lyric: “Jeremiah was a bullfrog”.

I think that’s pretty insane, to have such a memory at such a young age. It shows that I’ve always been especially attuned to music, like many people, and I’m very excited about ensuring my daughter also has that relationship.

One more month until I get the gear needed to make that possible. Right now, the set-up I’m looking at acquiring is:

Turntable – Pro-ject Debut Carbon
Amplifier – Cambridge Topaz AM10
Speakers – Dali Zensor 3

I’ll also pick up a CD player since, embarrassingly, I don’t have one currently and I can’t even play my huge CD collection! Pathetic!

All-in-all, it should be around $1600 worth of purchases. Hopefully my bonus is big enough so I can splurge on this affectation of mine. I’ll improve the components as I go, but this initial investment will be important because it will get me in the game AND it will provide the backbone of my sound system for at least a few years.

From → Music, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

