Skip to content
Tags

The first additions to my vinyl collection

August 17, 2016

I have taken the plunge. I have bought my first vinyl records in probably 25 years! I do own one vinyl record (Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, but that one wasn’t bought, but instead was given to me by my dearly-departed friend Ed. Looking it up on discogs.com, it’d fetch around $100 if I were to sell it. Needless to say, it has sentimental value, so that’s not happening.

But back to the new vinyl: yes, I joined Vinyl Me, Please, even though I do not yet have a turntable or any sort of way to play vinyl records! I just couldn’t resist doing so anymore. I need to feed my newly-developed vinyl habit! The player will come later, next month if all goes according to plan. My first purchased vinyl, however, from the VMP club, will be arriving tomorrow. It’s My Morning Jacket’s “Z”. I’ve heard of this band, but I’ve never actually heard their music. They’re somewhat adored by critics, so I figure they can’t be THAT bad. Hopefully I’ll like the album.

I also purchased two albums from the Vinyl Me, Please members store, where they have merch only available to members. I picked up Frank Zappa’s “Hot Rats” (again, another artist whose name I knew, but whose music I did not) and Wilco’s “Schmilco” (whom I’ve seen on Austin City Limits twice, so I think I’ll like their music).

It’s a new day for me and I am just a bit closer to fulfilling my vinyl dreams!

From → Music, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

